Our Governors

Hello,  my name is Elisabeth Cooper and I am the Chair of Governors at Sacred Heart Catholic Voluntary Academy.

Firstly, on behalf of the Governing Body, staff and parents we would like to pass on our sincere thanks to Mrs Ann Jackson (previous chair of governors) who has offered her skills, knowledge and commitment voluntarily and Ann’s support has helped our school achieve further success and will continue to do so as a Foundation Governor.

I am delighted to welcome you to our website which I hope provides the necessary information to parents and visitors about how our school is run and the aims and expectations we set ourselves.

As a Catholic school the Governing Body is made up of Foundation Governors, Staff Governors and Parent Governors.  We are entrusted with ensuring the school is well run and promotes the highest pupil achievement. The Governing Body’s key duties include: setting the strategic direction, policies and objectives; approving the school budget and reviewing progress against it.  The Governors also act as a critical friend to the school by supporting and challenging Mrs Taylor and her staff to ensure that the teaching and learning standards are high and that all pupils make good progress in a safe, engaging and rich learning environment.

In addition the Foundation Governors on the Governing Body have a legal duty to preserve and develop the Catholic character of the school and to ensure that the school is conducted in accordance with its trust deed.

I hope our website answers many if not all of your questions, but the school is always happy and willing to answer any concerns or queries you may have.

Miss Elisabeth Cooper

Chair of Governors

Governors Term Start Date Term End Date Status Responsibilities
Mrs Karen Taylor 01/09/2015 N/A Head Teacher Whole School
Miss Elisabeth Cooper 07/11/2016 31/08/2020 Chair Head Teacher Performance Management
Mr Reg Carter 01/04/2015 31/03/2019 Vice-Chair SEN/Pupil Premium
Mrs Helen James 01/09/2015 31/08/2019 Foundation Safeguarding, R.E, DCI
Mrs Ann Jackson 01/08/2015 31/07/2019 Foundation Pupil & Ethos, Finance & Personnel
Mrs Trudy Clayson 01/09/2015 31/08/2019 Parent Finance & Personnel, Curriculum & Achievement
Mrs Toni Gardner 01/09/2015 31/08/2019 Parent Health & Safety, Finance & Personnel
Father Joe Wheat 01/12/2018 30/11/2022 Priest R.E, DCI, Safeguarding
Mrs Maria Molloy 08/11/2016 07/11/2020 Staff Pupil & Ethos
Mr Nicholas Waldram 12/11/2018 11/11/2022 Parent Governor  

Resigned Due to End of Office

Peter Moran 01/04/2013 31/03/2017 Foundation Finance & Personnel / Achievement & Curriculum
Richard Pearson 01/11/2013 31/10/2017 Foundation Finance & Personnel / Achievement & Curriculum

The full governing body meets once a term and there are various sub committees that also meet regularly to focus on all aspects of the school’s plans for improvement. There are also numerous more informal ways in which we work with the Head Teacher, staff and children.

Name Downloads Version Owner Last Modified Rating
Name Downloads Version Owner Last Modified Rating

Full Gov Mins 5 June 2017 (2)

Full Gov Autumn Minutes 2017

Full Gov Spring Term Minutes 2018

SH Gov meeting schedule 2017-18

SH Governing Body 2018

Register of Business and Pecuniary Interest

Nick Waldram

Elisabeth Cooper

Ann Jackson (2)

Toni Gardner (2)

Trudy Clayson

Helen James (3)

R Carter 1

Fr J Wheat (2)